Other Resources for Organizers

The following programs can support you and organizers with whom you work to reflect, build resiliency, and foster transformative leadership capacities.

If you know of a similar program that is not on this list, please let us know, and we will add it!

Training and Tools

Center for Contemplative Mind in Society   http://www.contemplativemind.org/

Center for Whole Communities   http://www.wholecommunities.org

Generative Somatics   www.generativesomatics.org

Leadership Learning Community   http://www.leadershiplearning.org/

Movement Strategy Center   www.movementstrategy.org

Rockwood Leadership Program   http://www.rockwoodleadership.org/

Social Transformation Project   www.stproject.org

Spirit in Action   http://spiritinaction.net/

Transformative Change   www.transformativechange.org

 

Sabbaticals

Alston Bannerman Leadership Initiative (national)   http://www.centerforsocialinclusion.org/leadership/alstonbannerman-leadership-initiative/ (no application deadline in 2014)

California Wellness Foundation Sabbatical Program   http://www.calwellness.org/leadership_recognition/sabbatical_program_overview.htm

Durfee Foundation (Southern California)   http://durfee.org/

O2 Sabbatical Award (San Francisco Bay Area) http://o2initiatives.org/sabbatical-award/overview/

Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation (North Carolina)   http://zsr.org/grants-programs/sabbatical-program

 

Retreats

Blue Mountain Center   http://www.bluemountaincenter.org

Manzanita Village   http://www.manzanitavillage.org/

Pie in the Sky (a Windcall site)   http://www.pieinsky.com/

stone circles (also offers many transformative leadership programs)   http://www.stonecircles.org/

Vallecitos Mountain Refuge   http://www.vallecitos.org/

 

Fellowships

Kalmanovitz Initiative for Labor and the Working Poor   http://lwp.georgetown.edu/campusproject/practitioner-fellowship-program/

Petra Foundation   http://petrafoundation.org/

 

Writers Retreats

There are many writers retreats or writer-friendly spaces across the country. Writers’ and Writers Hideouts by Andrea Brown lists many “hideouts” for those needing to write and reflect. These programs stand out for their historical attention to social and environmental justice writers:

Mesa Refuge   http://www.mesarefuge.org/

Blue Mountain Center   http://www.bluemountaincenter.org/

Hedgebrook   https://www.hedgebrook.org/